Sagrada Família – Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família, Barcelona, Spain

Hi  everyone! I hope you have a lovely weekend!

It’s my first post here and I’m very excited about it. At the beginning I want to write something about myself. If you want to skip  it and read only a part about Sagrada Familia please go straight to the second paragraph. My name is Agata and I live in Poland. Some people  know me as a complete freak about music and travels. I have to admit, it’s 100% true. I’ve decided to make this blog to share my passion with you and to inspire you to travel more, discover more, have as much great time in your life as you can and to follow your dreams. I know, it’s too positive to be possible but I truly believe that even living in such crazy world as we do, we can find some inspiring places, meet lovely people and do what makes us happy. One more thing. I’m not English native speaker so please forgive me my mistakes. Yes, I’m not perfect, but who is? Simple, let me know if something seems to be weird and I’ll try to explain it.

My first post is about one of the most impressive buildings I’ve ever seen in my life, Sagrada Família in Barcelona, Spain (Cataluña). I’m sure everyone’s heard about it, but have you ever considered going inside? Well, you definitely should, because it’s not another dark and creepy church.

The easiest way to get there is by underground. Line 2 or Line 5 takes you straight to Sagrada Familia station. If you want to avoid the queue and save some time, it’s possible to book your tickets on website: http://www.sagradafamilia.org/ Here you will find also information about tickets prices, opening hours and events.  I recommend you to visit one of the temple’s towers. You can get there by lift and go down by stairs watching beautiful panorama of Barcelona and façade of the building. I was very impressed. The interior is completely different, I felt like in a giant animal or something (If that makes any sense to you :P) Thanks to colorful stained glasses, sunlight creates beautiful illuminations on white walls and columns. Very impressive and jaw dropping.

Few facts which seems very interesting to me and which I didn’t know:

  • Works began on 1882 but Gaudi started working on the temple one year later. He replaced the architect Francesc de Paul.
  • The style of the building is Gothic-based
  • The temple had to be financed by donations, that’s why it would be called “Cathedral of the poor”.

Now please look at the pictures and If one of you decide to go there, I’m job is done 😉 Enjoy!

p1140524

p1020991

The interior:

p1020948

p1020957

p1020972

p1020953

p1020961

p1020964

p1020969

p1020976

p1030002

The facade:

p1030009

p1030044

p1030060

p1030058

Sagrada Familia and my face, lol:

p1140535

p1020996

Leave a Reply

